top of page

No Aurora Borealis in Minot, North Dakota

I drove up to North Dakota to try to catch the Aurora Borealis or Northern Lights. I had been in Upper Pennisula a couple of times but could never catch it the show, so I tried a different approach. I was so disappointed because the weather predicted clear skies for a beautiful show. The Aurora is an incredible light show caused by collisions between electrically charged particles released from the sun that enter the earth's atmosphere and collide with gases such as oxygen and nitrogen. The lights are seen around the magnetic poles of the northern and southern hemispheres.

As I drove over the North Dakota state line, the clouds started coming in. WHY?!? I drove the entire weekend, three weekends in a row to try to catch the beautiful display. I will keep trying to check this off of my life list.

What I explected to see in North Dakota.

What I saw in North Dakota.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page