top of page

Cody Stampede Rodeo

I have never been to a rodeo and I am all about first time adventures, so I went to my first rodeo in Cody, Wyoming. The Cody Stampede Rodeo has been held every summer. 2017 marks the 98th anniversary of Cody Stampede and the 79th anniversary of the nightly performances. These two events establish Cody as not only one of the longest running successful professional rodeos, but also the only place in the country that has a rodeo performance nightly making it the Rodeo Capital of the World. The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association named the Cody Stampede "Best Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year". I went on July 3rd and they had an amazing Independence Day celebration with music, video for the armed services, a massive American flag and a remembrance of the fallen soldiers. I wish that I had a video but I was too busy crying my eyes out and I wasn't the only one. Everyone around me was crying. A truly amazing experience!

Subscribe To My Youtube Channel

The rodeo was around two hours long and had bronco riding, bareback riding, tie-down roping. There were no bulls the night that we went.

There was also a rodeo clowns whose outfits and humor sometimes mask the serious and highly important job of keeping the rodeo performers safe by distracting the horses and bulls. That’s why people in the know often refer to them as “bullfighters” instead of clowns.

For the competitors, the Cody Nite Rodeo is serious business as they are competing for prize money every night. The rodeo is also a stepping stone with the better ropers and riders moving on to try to make it on the circuit throughout the country. The Cody Stampede Rodeo is one of nine stops on the Million Dollar Gold Tour Series insuring that the top cowboys in the country come to Cody.

Tags:

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page