top of page

Great Sand Dunes National Park

I was really excited to see the Great Sand Dunes National Park in Colorado and I really didn't know what to expect. I saw pictures but it was nothing like what I experienced. I saw the dunes in the distance as I was driving in, but at first they seemed small compared to the 13,000 foot peaks of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. Wow, once I arrived near the dunes, the vast scale of the dunes became apparent. The dunes extending for miles and they were so big, the experience was surreal.

The dunes were formed from sand and soil deposits of the Rio Grande flowing through the San Luis Valley. Over time, glaciers that fed the river valley melted and the waters evaporated. Westerly winds picked up sand particles from the evaporated lake and the sand was deposited on the east edge of the valley because the wind lost power crossing the Sangre de Cristo Range. This process continues and the dunes are still growing and changing the shape of the dunes.

Subscribe To My Youtube Channel

There is a creek at the foot of the dunes that we had to cross to get to the dunes. During the summer, the wide and shallow Medano Creek flows from the snowmelt coming down from the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. The creek bottom is sand so the water carves grooves into the sand and little dams are built up. The flow of the water knocks down these dams and it creates a sudden rush of water that I was able to play in a bit. During summer, the sand surface temperatures can soar to 150 degrees F on sunny summer afternoons. Whoa! Luckily it was an overcast day so I got to take my shoes off in the water and on the sand dunes.

Explore the quirky adventures and misadventures as I take you on a journey of the United States National Parks. These journeys inspired me to explore even more about the history of the United States, the good, the bad and the ugly. These journeys are encouragements to explore, or re-examine these beautiful lands. From mountain roads with hairpin turns to stunning seaside escapes to exploring good old American history, these areamazing journeys to take in this lifetime.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page