top of page

Death Valley and Mojave Desert, California

I drove through Death Valley during the National Park road trip and it was ridiculously hot. The average temperature in Death Valley in July was a suffocating 107 degrees and it has been determined that July was the hottest month on record for the entire planet Earth. I had plans to stay and check out Death Valley but found out that the temperature didn’t fall below 89 degrees at any point while I was in Death Valley so I decided to head to Vegas. I later found out that there were three nights that the “low” temperature was 102-103 degrees. No thank you!

I did get to see some beautiful areas of Death Valley while driving from California to Nevada. Death Valley is known for Titus Canyon, ghost towns, colorful mountains, Badwater Basin’s salt flats which is North America's lowest point at 282 feet below sea level and also Ubehebe Cratersystem where there was an explosive steam eruption about 2,000 years ago, when rising magma met an underground lake.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page